Losing a Visionary

Do what you love,” Steve Jobs implored in his commencement address to Stanford’s 2005 graduating class. He died earlier today, and it’s surreal. One of my friends said, “Wait, wasn’t he supposed to live forever?” He was a visionary, and he followed through on his vision, changing the world and the way we interact with it. It’s amazing.

While processing the loss, I read Seth Godin’s post of A Eulogy of Action. And all I can think about is, “Now is the time.” The things that I’ve been meaning to do, saying I will do, but have been too afraid to begin… fear is ridiculous. Life is too short to put off the things that burn with passion for us.

I’ve been wanting to create a CUSO to help other credit unions and cooperatives advance the CU Movement. I’ve been saying I want to do this since the start of the year. I have friends who I’d want to work with (and who fortunately, want to work with me, too), and rather than continue to keep saying it’s a goal, I need to start taking action on it.

It’s scary – there’s a risk for failing in a spectacular way – but it’s exhilarating. I’m not sure how to do it. Yet. But I will learn, and I will do, and I will help others who are on the same path to know that we can do this, together, through cooperation. Anything can be done through cooperation. And it is so much easier with others. And so much more fun!

So – since writing things down helps people to accomplish their goals… I think commiting this to writing is a good first step on what is sure to be an exhilarating journey.

“There is no reason not to follow your heart.” Steve Jobs 1955-2011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

